I have nothing to say. Goodbye?

I have spent a lot of the past year and a half writing on this blog, and I have enjoyed almost every minute of it. Yet in the month of March I think I only managed to write 3 or 4 times. Even out of those posts, not all of it was material I’d written at the time. I simply have nothing more to say.

I thought that maybe I was just too busy or too distracted. Or maybe that it was like writer’s block, which I’d get over eventually.

But I have realized that that root of the problem is that I really do not have anything to talk about. And the worst sort of writing there is, is when the writer has nothing to talk about.

One of my best friends has been trying to get me to start a blog for almost three years. I never told him about this blog, because he’s an intellectual and I’m a plebeian. He discusses things of substance, and I just babble. I told almost no one I know about this blog. I tried for a long time to get him to start his own blog because he has some really amazing things to say. But he needed some sort of camaraderie for encouragement. So he said he’d start a blog if we start it together.

I wasn’t going for it, since I’ve already got one blog and nothing to talk about.

But he’s gone ahead and started a new blog, and is very eager to begin to populate it with all the lovely intellectual topics he so much wants to talk about. And I really want to encourage that, so now I have to come up with some minuscule way to contribute to yet another blog, while I have…

literally

nothing

to say.

3 thoughts on “I have nothing to say. Goodbye?

  1. I was listening to a radio presenter the other day and he was talking about what he does if he has nothing to say. He says he has nothing to say and rabbits on about that until he thinks of something. It’s exactly what you’ve just done.
    You make it sound like you are leaving us. You mustn’t do that. Your blog isn’t about quantity. It’s about quality. You write well. Interesting stuff in your life and thoughts told well and with humour.
    Keep going.
    Have a great day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Only I haven’t found anything to say once the babbling ended. I’m not saying I’ll never be back, I suppose. Just probably not for a while.

      Thanks for the encouragement. I’ll just be lurking in the shadows for a while.

      Like

Say Something...

