newlyweds, pregnancy saga, the story so far

A Different Sort of Adventure Begins!

Friday was my last day as a public elementary school teacher. Thursday was my last day with students, and it was a real tear-jerker for the kids. Friday was clean-up-and-get-out day. Because the last week was so hectic and busy, nothing really had time to sink in for me until Friday when I said goodbye to Anna-Claire and my other teacher friends. She cried and I just about lost it.

I’m excited for summer break. I’m excited to be a mom and learn to be a homemaker. I’m excited for what is bound to be an incredibly new adventure! Don’t get me wrong. But.

But I do think that there’s going to be an insane shift ahead for me. I don’t get to just spend the summer “off” – I get to spend possibly the rest of time home with all the kids we want to have. That’s amazing, but it’s going to be so difficult to transition to. I’ve been working for 10 years, which in the grand scheme of things, isn’t that long. But for my entire adult life I’ve been in the work force, and now I’m not anymore.

But don’t you worry, I’ll be keeping busy. We have a lot going on this summer. Jefferson just started a new job in the welding field, which we weren’t sure would happen until December, or the fall semester at earliest, but we have had a great windfall in that regard. I’m very excited for him, and beyond proud of him. What a guy!

We’re also anticipating a move in the near future, if all goes to plan. (Pray for us!)

Baby is growing well! We found out a few weeks ago that we’re expecting a girl, if the tech was any good at her job! We’ve chosen the first name Frances, but we haven’t chosen a middle name yet. And she’s still expected around the 18th of September if all goes to plan. More on that later. But she’s an active little nut much like her father, so even though she’s a girl and not a boy like I’d been “expecting” it’s reassuring to know that she’ll be a mini-me of her dad anyhow.

Long story short, between purging, cleaning, and moving, adjusting to new schedules, and nesting into a new apartment, the summer will surely fly by and seem too short. I’m glad that once school is back in and I’m starting to miss it, I’ll be wildly distracted by our coming little bundle of joy.

I may be back more during the summer. I’m definitely going to try.

PS: Our one year wedding anniversary is this Saturday!!!

Say Something...