25 things to do before I’m 25

555564_10151940453994339_1559156932_n

When I was 22 I made a list of 25 things I want to do before I’m 25. That was eight months ago, although it feels like a lifetime. Here’s the list, with All New explanations of why I want to do these things, as well as the ones I’ve already crossed off in the past few months. I’m down to a year and nine months left to finish all the rest.

  1. Graduate univeristy: so I graduated in May with a nearly useless degree in philosophy
  2. Visit a country I’ve never been to: I’ve been to Ireland, England (technically), Bosnia, Croatia, Canada, and of course the good ole US of A. 
  3. Be published – a book or short story: I’ve had poems published and a vignette in my school paper but it isn’t enough. I want the real thing.
  4. Own my first carIn March or April I purchased my Nissan Maxima. The poor beast is falling apart already. 
  5. Go spelunking: C’mon. Who doesn’t want to go spelunking?!
  6. Run a 5K – maybe the Color Run?: Basically I want to start running again, and I do better when I have larger goals to reach for.
  7. Learn a new language: I love languages. I used to speak a little french and a little spanish. Now I’ve got nothing. I want to learn them all, but maybe I’ll start with Italian?
  8. Learn to play the guitar, or relearn to play the piano: I just want to play beautiful music, okay?
  9. Have/use a gym membership consistentlyI had one from January til May, and I just got one again recently after moving. I’ve just got to get myself to keep going…
  10. Go geocaching: I’ve wanted to do this for years and haven’t found fun companions to do it with. Anybody want to join me?
  11. Solve a Rubik’s cube: Childhood ambition that I’ve never lost. Leave it at that.
  12. Learn to drive manual transmission: Come ON. Everyone should be able to – I’m ashamed that I can’t.
  13. Be a bride’s maid for my sister’s weddingYeah that definitely happened. Done. Gone. Thank God.
  14. Apply/interview for/start with the Peace Corps: Again, a dream since I was a child that I just can’t give up on.
  15. Visit Key West with friends: Last time was magical but…
  16. Visit the west coast of the US: I’ve never been. Why not? This is my country…
  17. Go surfing in the US:  I went in Ireland and froze my ass off, but loved it. Now for warmer climes!
  18. Own a pet – I want a dog: If I name it Brown Dog you have to shut up and stop laughing eventually, right?
  19. Learn to play chess and Risk: Life skills everyone should have, in my opinion.
  20. Go paintballing: Because I’ve begged my friends to go since I learned what it was and still I haven’t gone. Why? Why, God, why?
  21. Make and bury a time capsule: For memories. Duh.
  22. Road trip to all the places I’ve ever lived, in order: Because I like to relive miseries as frequently as possible, and also be depressed that things change. 
  23. Move a younger sibling into a college dorm:  Because it’s about time. 
  24. Write and record a song:  Because I’m a glutton for punishment.
  25. Move out. I moved out, all the way from Michigan to New Hampshire. Next time I move I’m determined for it to be overseas. Let the adventures begin!

Well that’s 4 things in 8 months. At that horrible rate I won’t be cutting it at all. I’ve got to get a move on with some of these things, although I can already admit that my priorities have changed slightly since making this list. Oh well. All’s well that ends well.

One thought on “25 things to do before I’m 25

Say Something...

