Disconnect to Reconnect

I guess I’m destined to ramble ever on about my life and how I want to change it. Looking back at my own posts puts me to sleep, they’re so dull. Somehow I can’t seem to focus on anything else.

At any rate, I think the differences I’m working for are worth it, so I’ll keep rambling.

I have realized that I miss experiencing the world like I did when I was a child. We didn’t have phones and computers, we almost never watched TV. We were always outside, rain or shine. I miss that.

This leads me to think that I have to disconnect in order to reconnect. To be able to find my way back to experiencing the world in the most natural way I can, I have to do the unthinkable: unplug. I say unthinkable in jest – I actually much prefer to distance myself from these things anyway. But there is always the pressure to stay within reach, whether it’s through email or phone calls or text messages.

But when my phone battery dies half way through the day and I realize I have no charger, I can’t help but to smile. No one can get a hold of me. I could go anywhere and no one would know!

It’s small realizations such as this which make me eager to go further. Checking email once per day for work is more than enough for me. Checking facebook? Who even cares. Responding to text messages? Well, that may be the hard part.

I’ve already gotten in the habit of leaving my phone on vibrate, so I rarely answer phone calls. Lately I’ve been forgetting it at home when I run errands, and even that is liberating.

My final step is to force the issue, to make a point of avoiding the screens and keyboards which surround me. And then I can get back out – and it’s spring! I’m so excited!

I’ve been balancing rocks lately. I know that sounds peculiar, but a new friend of mine showed me, and it’s immensely satisfying. It’s prime time for some zen relaxation, some meditation. I made a joking post about it, but there’s something about balancing some rocks in my back yard that makes me sure I can learn to balance things in my life.

I’ve also been geocaching, and I’ve started to fix my bike, and started running on the outdoor track. I have a new appreciation for the delicious New England air. Spending time outdoors reminds me who and what I am. Disconnecting from the phones and such to reconnect with nature so beautiful is a small price to pay.

Now I’m going to log off and go for a nighttime run!

2 thoughts on “Disconnect to Reconnect

Say Something...

