Wine, wine, wine: take three

It seems to me that too long goes between the days that I drink wine. I should drink wine every day. Alas, I’ll be going the other direction, as I’m giving up wine and all things mega-sweet starting in the morning. It’s part of my new change-my-life initiative.

What else is on that list, you might ask.

Lots of things. I’ve realized the futility of griping, and I’m doing something about it.

To start with, I’m monitoring my time. I think that just by keeping an eye on where all the time goes, I’ll be able to be more productive with the time I’ve got. If I can see where it’s all going I can hold myself accountable to get the things done that need doing. I won’t be able to get away with saying “I did my best” if I truly haven’t. I’ve been doing this for a couple of days now and it’s quite interesting to see the dispersal of time. (I’ve put an app on my phone that’s basically a complicated time log, so I literally know what I did with every minute of my day. It’s a little scary.)

As I started out saying, I’m cutting the bad things out of my diet. I’ve put on some extra pounds that I simply shouldn’t have on me, and the way I eat could never be mistaken with healthy. So beginning in the morning (because I’ve already eaten crap today) I will be starting a high protein, low carbohydrate diet, and we’ll see where that takes us. I’m also going to start aiming to drink more water, as I always seem thirsty anyway.

I’ve also made a point to set aside time to do the things I always talk about wanting to do, but never try. Like learning to play the guitar. I bought myself a little beauty over the summer and it’s just sat in its case in the closet for months, and been neglected. So it’s out now, and for the past three days I’ve practiced on it for a while each day. I’m fairly horrible, I must admit. But switching between chords is getting easier, so if I stick with it maybe it’ll pan out.

I’ve also decided to be more active, so I’ve renewed my gym membership, and I’ve done that for the past three days as well. I’m sore as a workhorse, but it’s worth it. It’s the good sort of pain, you know? That warm ache that lets you feel your whole body at once – I love it!

Another big thing for me will be sleeping better. I get about four hours per night as things are now, but I’m making the conscious effort to get to bed earlier. For now I’m setting small goals, so I’m aiming for about 6 hours per night. I’m hoping that the added gym activity as well as the low carb diet will have me just tuckered out enough to pass out earlier and stay asleep longer. Oh, and I’ve decided I’m not to look at my phone or computer screen for at least an hour before bed, if I can help it.

I’m hoping that with that little addition, I’ll also get back into reading for pleasure and self enrichment. I haven’t done that in ages and I miss it. I was the most intense bookworm growing up, but as soon as I entered ‘adulthood’ I never made the time anymore. That’s about to change.

What else? I’m sure there was something but I can’t for the life of me remember what it was. Either way, these are a lot of changes to be making all at once in my life. But I’m pretty good at sticking to things when I know they’re truly what’s best for me. (I did quit smoking cold turkey seven months ago. If I could do that, I can do this.)011

The thought is that instead of instigating small changes over a longer period of time and allowing myself to adjust (as most people would recommend) I’m using this as a sort of shock treatment to my life. If everything is changing, then it’s harder to slip back into old habits, because I’m constantly aware that I’m working for something new.

I think it’s going to work. Plus, if I see even small improvements across the board it will be even more encouraging to see that my life as a whole can improve so markedly when I set my mind to it.

So this is my next adventure. Not Peace Corps. Not teaching in China. Not travelling the world.

Just staying at home, improving from the inside out, and hoping for the best.

Day 1.

Say Something...

