Maybe I’m a Grandma

It seems we’ve come to that time of year again when bundling up and staying warm is pretty much Priority Numero Uno. It’s about this same time every year that I remember that I know how to knit and crochet, and then out come the needles and the yarn.

I first taught myself to crochet when I was about 11 years old. For a long time, I made a lot of really terrible scarves, belts, and just about anything else for which no skill at all is necessary. But I loved it. When I became confident in my abilities with a hook and needle, I started going in circles. Out came a lot of tubes that I liked to call leg warmers. Since they were of vastly varying sizes, they were never used as such. Eventually I made a doll hat, and it was my pride and joy.

A year or so later, a family friend offered to teach me how to knit. Witch much excitement, I began. A month later, I’d made my first hat. It was too big for me and had a lot of holey errors, but it was a hat nonetheless, and I wore it everywhere I went. It was my new pride and joy.

I taught my sisters how to crochet, but other than that I’m pretty sure I made it through high school without making anything new, and more importantly without anyone realizing I had such an archaic skill. I’m not sure why I went out of my way to not tell anyone I’d made hats and scarves and such. Peer pressure manifests itself in strange ways I suppose.

Once I hit college I simply didn’t have the time to hone my craft at all. It was rather disappointing, especially since I’d lost sight of the pressure to be ‘normal’ which somehow precluded having practical skills. Plus, being crafty has started to be seen as useful again, even if it’s just so you can make quaint hipster one of a kind creations and be cooler than anyone who can’t.

Half way through college I decided I was going to make time to do something with my hands again, and I made two identical hats. Identical except that once again one was too big. The normally sized hat I gave as a Christmas present to my best friend, and the other I kept to wear askew on top my own head. Ever since then, I’ve been sure to take the time to make something pretty and practical at about this time of year. A couple of years ago I made a marvelously warm giant red infinity scarf. I wear it all the time.

So now it’s time to get the needles and yarn back out, and start on something new. I’ll probably make something familiar and easy to begin with, but I think I’d like to branch out into new territory this year. Maybe attempt some mittens. Or something for my nephew perhaps.

At the tender age of 11 and the ancient age of 24, I’ve accepted time and time again that at the end of the day, I’m a grandma at heart, sitting in a rocking chair and knitting away to my little heart’s content. Now, let me go find my monocle and needles, and I’ll get down to business.

2 thoughts on “Maybe I’m a Grandma

Say Something...

