Dig In

Do you ever have the inexplicable desire to take up a handful of soil and just rub it between your hands and really feel it? Or to stand knee deep in water that’s far too cold? Or to climb a tree just to feel the bark against your hands? Or to stand on the edge of a precipice on a windy gusty night?

So much of the time I feel that I’m just blindly following time through the day. I pay attention to very little and I’m only concerned with what I’ve already decided is important. I don’t give the day a chance. If it wasn’t on my To Do list, then regardless of what happens around me, I don’t pay attention. I hate that. I didn’t used to be that way.

I used to see everything, and feel everything, smell everything – sense everything. I paid attention to every little insignificant thing, and I could see the biggest picture because of it. But I allowed life to get in the way. No, not even that. I forced those details out of my life to make room for normalcy and regularity. What was I thinking?

Now I want it back. I want to dive into each day of my life sensing with all my senses. I want to remember something because I have it captured in every way. I can smell it – I can feel it – I can taste it – I can hear it. This is the only way to see everything. I want that back. And I try to get it back, but it’s much like the imagination of a child – once you let it go for some time, it’s awful hard to truly get it back.

So I want to dig my hands in. I want to force myself to see and hear and taste and feel. I’ll be doing it a little bit at a time, but if you see a young woman climbing trees with her ankles dripping and clods of dirt in her hands on a windy day, at least you’ll know why.

2 thoughts on “Dig In

  1. Smashing post. I couldn’t agree more. Irrespective of the weather I try to take the dog for a walk in the fantastic countryside that surrounds us and take time and pleasure in looking around seeing what’s there, catch the scent of the countryside and listen to the birdsong. I watched some guys cutting back a tree not too long ago and remember thinking what a fantastic job that must be – climbing trees for a living. I’m always banging on about getting your nose out of your smart phone, take time away from seeing how many “likes” you have and just spending time enjoying your surroundings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad there are people out there like you! Let’s ditch the smart phones and climb some trees. People don’t know what they’re missing!

      Like

Say Something...

