Wedding Season is Here

This past week I drove from New Hampshire to Missouri and back for a friend’s wedding. That’s a long drive, let me tell you! Twenty five hours it took me to get out there, sleeping only four hours. On the way back I did it in about twenty three hours and didn’t sleep a wink. Remind me to never drive 23 hours without sleeping again!

But this isn’t the point. Wedding season is now in full swing, and I happen to be in that period of my life in which all the normal people are getting married. The wedding last week was one of my best friends marrying her high school sweet heart. I am so happy for Stephanie and Dustin, I can’t even say. Steph was one of my college room mates and in all the time I’ve known her, I’ve never seen her look quite so happy as she did on her wedding day. Couldn’t be happier.

So for that I was gone from last Tuesday until yesterday, hence the lack of posts of late. The day after tomorrow I leave for a 5 day road trip from NH to Wisconsin and back for another wedding. Two good friends of mine from college will finally be tying the knot, and I wouldn’t miss it for the world! But I must say, I’m not looking forward to another road trip. Who can say if having company will make it easier, when one of our companions will be a 2 week old baby!

Once I’m back from that wedding I’ve got about 3 weeks until another one of my very best friends gets married across the country in Idaho. Flights from here to there cost more than my body weight in gold (which is quite significant), so once again I’m considering a road trip. But a coast to coast round trip drive for a wedding seems a bit extreme, even to me. The only reason I’m particularly tempted is because I was born in Idaho and have never been back, and I would so relish seeing where I grew up and experiencing the Rocky Mountains.

Finally, the last of my wedding obligations this year is the second week of September. I will be travelling to Chicago to attend the wedding of one of the sweetest girls in the world to the man who makes her happier than words. Thus ends my parade of weddings for the year.

I love that so many of my friends have found the men and women they want to spend the rest of their lives with. I’m relatively sure that one day it’ll be me, and I’ll have all of these same friends standing beside me as I take the riskiest plunge of my life…

But in the mean time there are dresses to be purchased, and heels to learn to walk in, and makeup and manicures to be talked into at gunpoint, and open bars to be taken advantage of.

stephs wedding3stephs wedding

7 thoughts on “Wedding Season is Here

    1. It was a great wedding ๐Ÿ™‚ the next one is in Chippewa Falls area. I haven’t been around WordPress much of late, between being busy and on the road and not having much to write about for my own blog. But the last few posts of yours I managed to read were quite interesting. I like the way you write.
      Thanks for stopping by my blog again ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Say Something...

