An Idiot Abroad

I do not often recommend TV shows, (I don’t watch many myself,) but I would be remiss if I did not tell you that you absolutely have to watch An Idiot Abroad. If you’re a fan of Ricky Gervais, Stephen Merchant, or Karl Pilkington (or all of the above) then you’ve probably heard of it. It’s the funniest and most worth my time show I’ve seen in ages.

Ricky and Stephen send Karl, insensitive homebody that he is, away to various foreign countries to experience life there, and to see some of the world’s most famous sites. Karl doesn’t care to travel, and honestly a lot of his commentary is only funny because it is so culturally insensitive and ridiculous. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t find cultural insensitivity to be a funny thing in general – rather it disgusts me – but just his way of experiencing the world is like so many people I know; narrow minded and disinterested.

anidiotabroad_500

They start out by sending Karl to see the seven wonders of the world. He doesn’t care to see these places, and spends most of his time complaining to his camera crew about the various things he encounters that he does not like or understand. He tries strange foods, sees insane sights, and experiences many peoples. And at the end of the day his focus is on missing his crisps, his bed, and his girl.

The second season takes him on a sort of “bucket list” challenge, despite being populated by things on others’ bucket lists that he would never do, like bungee jumping, sleeping on a deserted island, and traveling via the Trans Siberian Railroad.

Throughout the show, Karl travels everywhere from China to Mexico to Jordan, Peru, Vanuatu, Mongolia, Russia, New Zealand, the US, Thailand, and much more. The humor of a Ricky-esque British comedy stays consistent throughout, as Ricky and Stephen continuously find unfamiliar and uncomfortable things for Ricky to experience in his travels abroad.

If you are a travel enthusiast and want to see some nice footage of places all over the world, and you also have a great sense of humor, well, then you’ve already seen this show. But for anyone who hasn’t – get on it. It’s on Netflix.

You really can’t go wrong.

3 thoughts on “An Idiot Abroad

  1. I swear I have a love/hate r’ship with this show. Love seeing all the footage from around the world…..but sometimes, I just want to smack this guy & the show’s producers. There are so many cringe worthy moments & I really feel for the locals. Otherwise, it is quite entertaining.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually totally agree. Cringe worthy is exactly the word, whether it’s Karl’s xenophobia or his apparent belief that all these cultures are beneath him. I just like to live vicariously through his ability to go to all these places, and I love the things the locals have him do to experience their cultures. Mainly it’s his discomfort at these things that makes me laugh because he so deserves to be made uncomfortable, especially since we can’t smack him. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Say Something...

