Goodbye Morocco

It’s been about 24 hours since I submitted my Peace Corps application. Immediately after submitting it, you’re sent a Health History form, which took me the better part of an hour to go through, even though I’ve a limited medical history. Honestly the best part about going through it was that it gave me a great since of gratitude for all the illnesses, ailments, and diseases that I do not have in my life. That may seem like a tongue in cheek comment, but it’s not. I’m serious. I know a lot of people, family included, who would have taken twice as long again as I did just selecting all the unfortunate maladies they have dealt with in their lives. I’m glad that’s not me. As it was the only things I could answer as having were childhood asthma, intermittent migraines, and that I have to wear contacts or corrective lenses.

A couple of hours after submitting this form I got an email that told me I can’t go to Morocco. Now, I didn’t have my heart set entirely on Morocco (thank goodness!) but I had really started to love the idea of working there, and I’d put a lot of time into reading and researching the country as well as reading blogs of former volunteers there. I’ll be honest: I was getting pretty excited for Morocco. I mean, who doesn’t want to be able to take a jaunt over to Casablanca?! (I’ve never been, but always wanted to go, at least since seeing the movie by that title years and years ago. I love that film.)

The email I received said this:

Thank you for completing your application to serve as a Peace Corps Volunteer. Your next step is to tell us what you would like to do in the Peace Corps. You are welcome to apply for any country of service where we can support your medical needs, and based on your Health History Form, you may choose from the list of countries below:

Albania, Armenia, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Eastern Caribbean, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guyana, Jamaica, Jordan, Kyrgyz Republic, Macedonia, Malawi, Mexico, Micronesia & Palau, Moldova, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Rwanda, Samoa, South Africa, Swaziland, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Uganda, Ukraine

and continued about how I can look up the programs associated with each of these locations. It also told me that I have TWO business days to make my top three desired selections and submit them, otherwise my application gets thrown out altogether.

I mean no offense but how am I supposed to choose in just two days?! Luckily I have a general idea of some things which allows me to cross about half of those countries off of my immediate interest list, but that still leaves so many! I want to research the locations and the positions in each and make long Pro/Con lists and be able to make a calculated decision. Clearly that’s not in the cards, just like Morocco wasn’t. I’m extremely glad that I’ve received this email on a Friday night, and it says business days so that means I’ve closer to four days to make my decision, right? I hope that will help.

So now comes the time for that quick, last minute research that I learned so well how to power through during those college all-nighters!

It’s time to make some decisions.

5 thoughts on “Goodbye Morocco

  1. You’re in a lucky place and ahead of the game. The only feedback I gave PC regarding country of assignment was to say I would go anywhere but Africa. So they handed me Malawi. And I loved it. PC Application: the adventure’s already begun.

    Like

    1. Anywhere but Africa and you got Malawi, how’s that for a curve ball! Honestly there probably isn’t a place they could offer me that I would say no to, but I do have slight personal preferences. There are also countries I am not considering applying for because of the program’s language requirements which I unfortunately do not meet. But yes, the adventure has already begun!

      Like

  2. Best of luck in getting your Peace Corps placement. No doubt adventure awaits. I do hope you avoid violence, though. I went to high school with a wonderful guy who was killed by the Shining Path when working with the Peace Corps in South America in the late 1980’s or early 90’s (memory is fuzzy, not sure exactly when it happened). Not that you need to hear that… Sorry. I suppose you know that many countries are unsafe for Americans, for their own citizenry, in fact. Even in our own country, many law-abiding families live in fear because of gang violence. No one should live in fear. No one.

    Like

Say Something...

