Days Ahead

So what kind of beat is life currently jamming to? The beat of adventure, that’s what! Adventure, the future, forward thinking, anticipation, all that sort of thing. In light of that I thought that I’d post a couple of links and blurbs about some of the things I’m finding more intriguing as possibilities for the near future. Maybe you’ll find them at least somewhat as interesting as I do.

Photo:Tessa Ratajczak, Bosnia, July 2013


Teaching English Abroad:
There are a lot of ways to do this, and a lot of organisations to do it through, but this link is to the one I’ve been doing my primary research on the last couple of days. It’s pretty much genius. For a native English speaker who has a never ending itch for travel and foreign culture, what could be better or easier? Don’t get me wrong, there’s a set of steps and necessary requirements, but none of it is all that complicated. As an adult whose parents drilled grammar into her head as a young child, I think I’d take to this quite naturally. It is definitely something that is on my radar of opportunities to pursue in the near future!

This is a link to a page which tells you lots about the various steps necessary to get underway.
This is a link to a site which has multiple sorts of working abroad options, from TEFL to au pairing.
This is a link to a site which is exclusively for TEFL for those with a university degree.

There’s much more out there, all you need is a quick google search and you’re set to go my friends! Maybe I’ll see you out there in the next year or so.


Volunteering Abroad
This might not seem to different from the first segment of this post, but to me it’s quite a bit different. To me the first is exclusively a TEFL sort of thing, but this would be a lot less specific and probable incorporate a lot more of local culture and lifestyle, as well as attempting to enrich a different element of those being worked with . There’re various sorts of volunteering, from being a farm hand to doing classical ‘mission’ work, to repairing communities in third world countries. Here are a couple things I’ve looked into:

This is a link to WWOOF, which would basically be working as a farm hand for several months per year in any number of different countries.
This is a link to FidesCo, which is more along the lines of mission work like I was saying. Still interesting.
There’s always more, this is just all I’ve really looked at in this particular category.


Generally Working Abroad
This can mean all sorts of things, as you’ll see from the links I’ll be posting. It can be anything from working with kids to waitressing in a chalet, to god-only-knows-what, and can have various run times.

This is a link to the chalet job sort of things I was mentioning. Use google for more general info.
This is a link to a page with some more seasonal sorts of jobs, not all of which are abroad, but you get the gist.
This is a link to loads you’d need to know in order to au pair abroad. Kids aren’t my thing, but who knows…
This is a link with some narrower locations, but which looks pretty helpful information wise.

And last but not least, there is the ultimate goald: the Peace Corps. I’ve wanted to join since I was about 7 years old, and somehow despite all I’ve hung onto the possibility that one day it could happen. I’m determined to use other varied experiences to get to this goal, so who knows, maybe by pursuing and accepting the challenge posed by some of the other opportunities on this page, perhaps that’ll be exactly what I need in order for the Peace Corps to finally accept me.


So those are a couple of my latest interest and goals, the things I’m using to encourage myself to get through the next few months of teaching snotty little private school second graders. I cannot wait for the freedom to be able to pursue some of these awesome endeavors and truly test my metal for the first time in my life. I’ve never been this excited for life.

10553633_353791581462149_1982010636267253837_n

As you can see, I’m interested in travel. If you are too, this is an interesting read, and will definitely get you salivating to be back on the road, or on the flight, as the case may be.

Say Something...

